Day 17 – Search Me Oh God

17January 23rd – Search Me Oh God

Author: Anita Wooten

Today’s Scripture Reading: Ephesians 1

Search me, oh God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.  (Psalm 139:23-24 KJV emphasis added)

As we partake in this season of fasting and prayer let us ask God to reveal to us any sin in our lives that is keeping us from walking in complete obedience to him.  It is very easy for us to look at others and see the sin in their life, yet we cannot see the matters of our own heart and mind that are displeasing to the Lord (Matthew 7:3-4).  That is why we must allow the Holy Spirit to search us and reveal to us any area of our life that is not honoring to Him.

2 Corinthians 7:1b NIV says, dear friends let us purify ourselves from everything that contaminates body and spirit, perfecting holiness out of reverence for God.  In this passage, Paul urged the Corinthians to make a clean break from their past and anything that was separating them from God. Today, we must do the same, separate ourselves from the sin that so easily entangles us and keeps us from running the race for Christ (Hebrews 12:1 NIV)

As you fast and pray today, ask the Holy Spirit to reveal to you any action, thought or attitude that is dishonoring God in your life.  As the Holy Spirit shows you the sin in your life, be honest with yourself by:

1.            Write down what God has revealed.

2.            Admit (confess) your sin to God.

3.            Repent.

4.            Receive the forgiveness God has for you and make a clean break from your sin.

I John 1:9 NIV says, If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

Prayer Focus: Father God I ask you today to search my heart and reveal anything that is hindering my walk with you.  Give me the courage to agree with you oh God about my sin and to receive your love and forgiveness.  Grant to me that resurrection power to daily walk in victory (Ephesians 1:19-20 NIV).  In the name of Jesus, Amen.

Leave a Reply

