Day 15 – Pursuing Holiness

15January 21st – Pursuing Holiness

Author: Lisa Iovine

Today’s Scripture Reading: Proverbs 2

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” – Philippians 4:8

One day while watching a popular sitcom the Holy Spirit exposed the reality of compromise in my life. As this show played out, I soon realized that the very things I was asking God to guard my family from – deceit, lies, lust, drama, seeking identity in worldly things, self-obsession, gossip, sarcasm, greed, pride, selfishness and envy were being “sold” as entertainment; and we were buying the lie. The Lord brought to mind Philippians 4:4-9. ––Whatever is true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent, or praiseworthy, think about such things… Whatever you have learned or heard from me, or seen in me put into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

WOW!!! His Word is alive and Truth really does set us free. May 2013 find us as individuals and the body of Christ inviting Him to search us, purify us, and make us holy. May we delight ourselves in Him. Believing Psalms 16:6, “The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance. I will praise the Lord who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me.” Indeed His plans are good and He delights in blessing His children.

Prayer Focus: Lord, grant us the courage to live a life worthy of the Lord and please you in every way.

Leave a Reply

