Day 4 – Help with Worry

4January 10th – Help with Worry

Author: Kim Buchanan

Today’s Scripture Reading: Psalm 121

I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.  My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth. – Psalms 121: vs. 1-2

For years, this has been one of my favorite Psalms. My husband and I loved to hike in the mountains and he often heard me sigh deeply and say at my first glimpse of the majestic beauty, “The mountains make my heart sooooo happy!”

I can feel close to the Lord anywhere, but the mountains are where we share an unequaled delight! As the Psalm goes on to say, “… The Lord is thy keeper, the Lord is thy shade upon thy right hand. The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night. The Lord shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul…”  How amazing, that the One who created the heavens and the earth, cares enough to watch out for us even as we sleep! We are in His protection; we are safe from all harm. Does that mean nothing bad will ever happen to us? Will we never have to experience loss, suffering, and pain? Of course not! The time to prepare for the inevitable hard times we may experience is not when they are happening, but before.

By filling our hearts and minds with the promises and familiarity of our Lord, we can weather whatever storms may come our way. We recognize His strength and love supporting us through our trials. It is from the deep moments of joy, happiness, and absolute faith in Him, our reserve for battle is filled. When doubts, fears, and questions swirl in our mind, the answer is there at a moments notice! My sister-in-law shared with me that we cannot live in the “ifs”. God already has our lives planned and does not reveal everything to us in order to increase our faith in Him. I don’t know about you, but that takes a world of worry from my plate! My favorite scripture is “Don’t worry about anything, instead pray about everything. Tell God what you need and thank Him for all He has done. If you do this, you will experience God’s peace which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 4:6-7.  Some people are not happy unless they are in total and absolute control. I can say unequivocally, that I would not be happy if I thought it was ALL up to me! There is a peace in knowing that God has my life planned and in His control. Do I always agree with His plan? Absolutely not. Do I know beyond any doubt that His ways are best? Yes indeed! I can rest in His peace and watch-care wherever I might be; hiking in the mountains or toiling through the daily grind. Even when I sleep!!

Prayer Focus: When you pray, let go of what you are trying to control.  Trust your heavenly Father with whatever anxieties and concern you have.  He is big enough, strong enough, and compassionate enough to be trusted!

One thought on “Day 4 – Help with Worry

  1. What a beautiful refection of the love and care of our Father…it is amazing that when we pass into eternity with faith in Christ, we go to a better place…the best place…when God sent Christ, He sent His Son into a place that was so hurting from sin…it was, in our terms, the worst place for the King of Kings…but, in all His power, He overcame all for us…How beautiful…Stand on that mountain and feel the compassion of the God that loves us so much, He sent His only begotten Son…

Leave a Reply

