Day 3 – “Hineni”

3January 9th –  “Hineni”

Author: Sharon Horn

Today’s Scripture Reading: Psalm 81

 

The Lord came and stood there, calling as at the other times, “Samuel! Samuel!” Then Samuel said, “Speak, for your servant is listening.” – 1 Samuel 3:10

  • It’s Abraham’s response when God calls to him and asks him to sacrifice Isaac. (Genesis 22:2)
  • It’s Moses’ response when God captures his attention before the burning bush. (Exodus 3:4)
  • It’s Samuel’s response when he hears a voice calling to him in the night. (I Samuel 3:10)

Imagine, just imagine, what it must have been like to hear God calling your name. And to be so engaged with God that it was not alarming or confusing, but rather an encounter filled with familiarity and expectancy. There was no surprise on the part of Abraham or Moses or Samuel. In each case, God called in a pivotal moment, and each reply was an act of total focus, a complete readiness to personally encounter God’s invitation to join Him in His work and in His plans for them.

Translated “Here I am”, the Hebrew word Hineni means, “Yes, I’m here. I’m ready, Lord. I’m listening, Lord. Tell me what you would have me to know.” It’s a declaration of availability to God. A response informed with the comfort and surety of `knowing that I know’ God exists, that He knows who and where I am, that He truly expects me to be a partner with Him in His grand scheme for His children.

Be ready for the moment when God calls your name – He will! Be attentive when God focuses His attention on you – He will! Listen! Pay attention! Something important is about to happen! Something is about to change! When you hear His voice, will you be rattled or fearful or filled with disbelief? Or will you say calmly, but with the familiarity and expectancy of Abraham, Moses and Samuel, “I am here. I am ready. I am listening. Tell me what You would have me know?”

“Hineni!”

 Prayer Focus: Today be sensitive to God’s calling in your life.  It may be to speak to a waitress, or walk across the room to encourage a classmate.  Whatever the case, be sensitive to when God is speaking to you.  When He does – respond!

Leave a Reply

