21 Days of Prayer and Fasting

Blog Banner2 2012 EdThis weekend we are preparing to launch the second annual 21 Days of prayer and fasting season at NorthStar.  The goal of fasting is to draw nearer to God. Biblical fasting always has to do with eliminating distractions for a spiritual purpose; it hits the reset button of our soul and renews us from the inside out! It also enables us to celebrate the goodness and mercy of God, and prepares our hearts for all of the good things God desires to bring into our lives. Remember, your personal fast should present a level of challenge, but it is very important to know your own body, know your options and most importantly, seek God in prayer and follow what the Holy Spirit leads you to do.

There are several types of fasts. How you choose to fast is between you and the Lord!

Types of Fasts

Complete Fast
This fast calls for drinking only liquids, typically water with light juices as an option.
The Daniel Fast
This type of fast has grown increasingly common and is designed so that you eat no meat, sweets, or bread. You consume water and juice for fluids and fruits and vegetables for food.
Partial Fast
This fast is sometimes called the Jewish Fast and involves abstaining from eating any types of food in the morning and afternoon. This can either correlate to specific times of the day, such as 6:00 am to 3:00 pm, or from sunup to sundown.
Media Fast
This fast is common for those who do not have much experience fasting foods, who have health issues that prevent the fasting of food, or who wish to refocus certain areas of their life that are out of balance. For instance, someone might select to abstain from using social media or watching television for the duration of the fast—and then choosing how to carefully bring that element back into their life in an orderly fashion.

Timing of a Fast

At NorthStar, we encourage fasting corporately for 21 days each year in the month of January. This is part of a season of high-intensity prayer as a church family. You may also opt to fast at other times during the year for your own spiritual development. It’s very typical to fast a single meal, or a whole day, or three days—even more. The timing of your fast is not as important as the strength of your focus on Him as you fast.

We’ve provided several resources below for you and your family.   Last year we saw God move in a powerful way as a result of our church praying and fasting together. Over the next 21 days we will post a Bible reading guide, devotional and prayer focus here for you on the blog.  These devotionals have been written by some of the members of NorthStar church and will help guide us spiritually on this journey.  However the Lord may lead you to fast and pray over he next three weeks we want to encourage you to read through the materials provided below, especially if you will be entering a dietary fast.

If you have children we have provided a mealtime devotional guide for you below to download.  We do not recommend children participate in a food fast as their bodies are still in a developmental stage. We’ve provided some alternatives in the download below.

Resources

The links below will be valuable tools to guide you in your 21 days of fasting and prayer.

A Guide to Fasting in Prayer – By Bill Bright (Article)
Learn about the Biblical foundations for fasting and prayer and how to fast in a Biblical and healthy way.

Prayer and Fasting Guide – By Stovall Weems, Author of Awakening
A PDF guide to Biblical prayer and fasting.  Biblical ideas, health precautions and menu ideas.

NorthStar Prayer and Fasting Prayer Guide for Print – PDF Printout
Day by Day prayer guide for the journey

Family Mealtime Devotional Guide for Kids – PDF Printout

3 thoughts on “21 Days of Prayer and Fasting

  1. Great post. You covered most of the issues I wrote about in my book Food in God’s Place. The media fast is important during all fasts. If we are to truly learn to depend on God completely, we must be able to hear him, and that means turning off the chatter long enough to hear his whisper.

  2. This is my first fast i have drawn closer to the lord and have spent more time with him and time with him and my wife. the eating is the issue i’ve ate less and drankl more water less pprocessed food i have noticed a shaky nervous feeling time to time like i should just sit down and relax; as i do drive alot i will improve because with god ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE. WOW hebrews refers to JESUS as joshua (hebrew and greek they are identical). thus book talks about rest i cannot rest all i want to do is read the word until i am tired.verse 10 speaks to me as i stop my routine since i am in ‘his rest’. i read a king james study bible. verses 12 and 13 seem to me that nothing is hidden from GOD. i believe know all of this it is the written word of GOD. and the notes say that god is scrutinizing our lives intently. and his word is alive. GOD is tried or tempted by men. Sunday Scott addresed the time of need verse 16 says to come boldly to the throne of grace to obtain mercy and find grace in what …the time of need. i think…thats my mind not the will of GOD i understand that. I amn currenlt unemployed have been since december and today was the first fast day and i see the doors opening and i”ve asked for guidance through it and to guide me on this career path because i have waisted enough of my life. My understanding is that this life”s meaning is to serve and worship god and give him the glory bercause he created everything , everything good bad angelic and demonic. People ask why bad things happen well my heavenly father is that a father and he is teaching us lessons much as i do with my son and that my mother did as i was growing up. I am absolutly grateful for my raising of being in the church and having a truly godly family. and when i got on my on i went away from it thats why i am 33 and in a essence truly born again (7-25-10) but now i feel iam at a maturing level i understand that the LORD has let me see life when i am in control, drugs alcohol poisoning unmarried sex and a child born out of wedlock and theivery yes i”ve done that but this is the paul of me not the saul. I see people in my circle who can’t grasp this level of peace im on and i admit i have failed horribly at getting people i.e. my lost friends to come to the church. i can tell a difference and a new closeness to the LORD already. i apologize for the lack of spell check but its not the how its about the what. thanks god bless and pray for me as i will pray fpor all of you on here.

  3. Here are some questions from my post today entitled: ‘Fasting, Calling, and Managing the Naaman Complex’ that we can add to our other devotional questions when we fast.
    A few questions I can ask myself when an idea that might become a religious Naaman Complex or BBD comes over me:

    1. Do I still want to do this if I must do it in secret with only God the witness?

    2. Do I still want to do this if someone else gets the credit?

    3. What gain do I expect other than ‘well done good and faithful servant?’

    4. If my role is to pass this on to someone else to fulfill, am I at peace with that?

    5. Have I ignored an opportunity to ‘give a cup of cold water to a little one’ to pursue my perceived calling?

    6. Have I forgotten that my ministry begins with my family and those closest to me?

Leave a Reply

