Audacious Stories: God loves a cheerful giver!

After the service Sunday, I had no idea who I was going to give my envelope to. My envelope contained $20 and I expected my situation to be spontaneous; that I would probably see someone in public who needed help. Then God spoke to my heart, on Tuesday, about a person I barely know, yet see every day. All I knew of his situation is that he is a dad working part time for minimum wage. He has 3 boys; one of which has special needs. He is currently trying to find a full time job to meet his family’s needs, but every day he comes to work as a teaching assistant because he’s passionate about helping improve the lives and futures of children. While I was figuring out how much to put with my $20, it hit me! I dog sat for a friend over the weekend. My friend paid me a ridiculously large amount of money for a job that I would have done for free. So I decided to put that money and some of my paycheck with it in the envelope. The best part of this experience was that I was able to give this blessing to the kind and gentle spirited man on his birthday! And I was SO excited about the opportunity to help bless this family’s life that I could hardly sleep the night before! 2 Corinthians 9:7 came to life for me that day: “Each man should give what he has decided in his heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.” I wasn’t just cheerful, I was ecstatic! And it was all because of God’s love in my heart, pouring out to others He loves.

-Erin Lilly

Leave a Reply

